Molecular and Nanoscale Physics

Dr. Lorna Dougan

MPhys (Physics), University of Edinburgh; PhD (Physics), University of Edinburgh

Lorna is an Associate Professor in the Molecular and Nanoscale Physics group in the School of Physics and Astronomy and leads an EPSRC Fellowship. Before joining the University of Leeds in 2009, Lorna held a postdoctoral researcher position in the Biological Sciences department at Columbia University in New York. Lorna is a physicist by training (MPhys and PhD) and during this time held a Winston Churchill Memorial Trust Fellowship. More recently she was awarded the Royal Society of Chemistry MacroGroup UK Young Researchers Medal in 2013 and the Medical Research Council and Royal Society Suffrage Science Award in 2015. She was awarded a European Research Council Fellowship in 2011 and more recently an Engineering Physical Sciences Research Council Fellowship in 2017. Lorna's research interests span biophysics, liquid structure, extreme conditions and (bottom-up) synthetic biology.

Merry Christmas from the Dougan Group, 2017


Ellen Kendrick

Matthew Hughes

Alex Wright

Harry Laurent





Past Group Members

Dr Toni Hoffmann (Senior Scientist, Research & Development, Avacta Life Sciences)

Dr Megan Hughes

Dr Samuel Lenton (Postdoctoral Research Associate, University of York)

Dr Natasha Rhys (Postdoctoral Research Associate, University of Oxford)

Dr Marcelo da Silva (Postdoctoral Research Associate, University of Bath)

Dr James Towey (Dean of Engineering Postdoctoral Prize Researcher, Faculty of Engineering, University of Nottingham) 

Dr Kasia Tych (Human Frontier Science Fellowship, Technische Universitat Munchen)

Dr Danielle Walsh (Postdoctoral Research Associate, University of Leeds)

Dr Michael Wilson (Science Tutor)

Paper Cakes

Dr James Towey
Dr Toni Hoffmann
Dr Kasia Tych
Dr Matt Batchelor
Dr Megan Hughes
Dr Danielle Walsh